One month in one blog post – What happened?

It’s been almost an entire month since I last wrote a piece on my blog. Fasten your seat belts, I’m about to get you up to date with the happenings of the last four weeks.

First of all I got a 4th place in August’s Finnish Open Poomsae in Turku. A nice result, if you take a look at all the internationals I was competing against.

Next up, the big news: As my Wij Zijn Sport project succeeded, I’m going back to Korea! An answer from the Kang’s family to this joyful news soon dropped in my mailbox. “Your mom must be very proud,” it read. Dutch readers can find my response to this here.

Another memo from heaven came, as the WTF (World Taekwondo Federation) announced that the 2014 Poomsae World Cup will be held in Queretaro, Mexico! It gave me an enormous energy boost to have a more concrete goal: #matthotomexico!

Last but not least I have a sporty weekend behind the back: On saturday the Dutch Open Poomsae took place in Rotterdam. I went home with the third place trophy. Which is another nice result, but I wasn’t quite satisfied with my performance yet. I had a couple of major balance flaws, probably because I wanted to kick too high. But I’m doing everything I can to deal with that: Qi Gong exercises to focus on my center balance and I’m working those wobbly balance boards, too. I know where to improve, the first step of actually improving!

On sunday I ran the annual Dam-tot-Damloop: 16.1 km from Amsterdam to Zaandam. I had to take it easy, but I couldn’t resist to use the energy I had left for a mad final sprint, ninjastyle (I had to dodge all the people who were just hobbling towards the finish line). Anyway, a time of 1h20min18sec was totally fine with me.

With exactly two weeks left until my departure to Korea, there’s a lot of things to do. When I’m in Korea, I hope to update the blog on a more regular basis again. But just to be sure, what about following me on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram as well? It’s a long road ahead to Mexico that I like to share with you!

~your Black Belt Sheep

The welcoming comittee for my newly won Dutch Open Poomsae Trophy.

The welcoming comittee for my newly won Dutch Open Poomsae Trophy.

Leave a Reply

